BITS 2019 Award Winners!

After another wildly successful year, the Blood in the Snow Canadian Film Festival capped off its week of Canadian horror last night with the 2019 BLOODIES AWARDS, with the presenting partnership of Hollywood Suite.

Best Director Brandon Christensen, director of Z with Festival Director Kelly Michael Stewart

Alberta director BRANDON CHRISTENSEN came away big with his film Z, taking the awards for Best Feature, and Best Director.

Rising Stars Chris Bavota and Lee Paula Springer, co-directors of Dead Dicks with Festival Director Kelly Michael Stewart

DEAD DICKS took three awards including Best Screenplay, Best Actor for lead actor HESTON HORWIN, and the Montreal-based co-directors CHRIS BAVOTA and LEE PAULA SPRINGER were recognized as 2019’s Rising Stars.

Audrey Cummings – director of She Never Died with Festival Director Kelly Michael Stewart

The 2019 Vanguard award went to Toronto director AUDREY CUMMINGS, whose film She Never Died was her third feature to screen at Blood in the Snow. The Vanguard award is presented in recognition of an individual or group who is a trailblazer in the independent Canadian horror industry. She Never Died star Oluniké Adeliyi also received the award for Best Actress.

Best Actress Olunike Adeliyi, She Never Died, and Festival Director Kelly Michael Stewart

The award for best effects went to makeup effects artist RYAN NICHOLSON for Puppet Killer. Nicholson was a well known and loved fixture in the Vancouver film community, who passed away in October. In recognition for his outstanding contribution to the independent horror film community, starting in 2020 Blood in the Snow will rename this award the RYAN NICHOLSON AWARD FOR BEST MAKEUP VISUAL EFFECTS.

Happy Face director Alexandre Franchi accepting the Best Ensemble award from Programmer Kirk Haviland

Blood in the Snow was made possible with the support of Telefilm and Ontario Creates, as well as the generous sponsorship from the Independent Production Fund, Hollywood Suite, McCam Insurance, William F. White, and Spacefy.

Blood in the Snow 2019 Award Winners

Best Feature: Z
Director: Brandon Christensen
Producers: Chris Ball, Brandon Christensen, Kurt Harder, Colin Minihan

Best Short: ROMI
Director: Robert Cuffley

Best Webseries: DEEP SIX
Director: Davin Lengyel


Best Actress: OLUNIKE ADELEYI (She Never Died)

Best Actor: HESTON HORWIN (Dead Dicks)

Best Ensemble: HAPPY FACE
Cast of Happy Face

Best Screenplay: DEAD DICKS
Directors: Chris Bavota and Lee Paula Springer

Best Editing: JEREMY LUTTER (Giltrude’s Dwelling)

Best Score: HATIRAS (Raveage)

Best Cinematography: JULIAN GAROFALO (The Nights Before Christmas)

Best FX: RYAN NICHOLSON (Puppet Killer)


Creators: Yasmina Ketita, Megan Stinson and Morgan Lander

Rising Star Award: CHRIS BAVOTA and LEE PAULA SPRINGER (Dead Dicks)

Vanguard Award: AUDREY CUMMINGS (She Never Died)

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.