The 21st Annual SHRIEKFEST Announces its Screenplay FINALISTS!

The annual Los Angeles competition will kick off with an opening night gala September 30

The Shriekfest Film Festival, an international horror/sci-fi film and screenplay competition announces the 45 Screenplay Finalists selected for its International Screenplay Competition. The Finalists were selected from submissions from across the globe in the horror/thriller/scifi/fantasy genres!  Festival Founder/Director Denise Gossett says “This was a tough year to narrow down all of the scripts, there is just so much talent out there!”

Short Screenplay Finalists
“The Grand Exchange” written by Jamal Hodge
“Again” written by Dorian Frankel
“Chuangi” written by Jennifer Lee Loy
“Saving Grace” written by Stephen Kayfish
“The Show Must Go On” written by Edward Santiago
“Freezer” written by Chris Wiltz
“Long Road to London” written by Russell David Whaley
“Fear of Falling” written by Jeffrey Stackhouse & Renfield Rasputin
“The Dweller in the Crawlspace” written by Michael Schaar-Ney & Mackenzie Gates
“Who Is It?” written by Jason Bradford
“Murphy’s Gulch” written by Jeff Bassetti
“Tramps” written by Jeffrey Howe
“The Boy With the Sombrero” written by Constantine Konstin
“The Boneyard” written by Megan Fitzgerald
“The Preserve” written by Jason Rice
“Chocolate Roulette” written by John Licata
“Mascaras por almas” written by Wilfred Esteves
“Bitch” written by Jason Bradford
“The Strawberries ain’t for Pickin” written by Milethia Thomas
“Moon-Sick” written by Melissa Pleckham

Feature Screenplay Finalists
“The Ghost” written by Chris Hoyt, Adam Hampton, & Luke Wyckoff
“The Derby” written by Lisa J. Dooley
“Raven Mocker” written by Dylan Barnett
“The Hitchhiker” written by Dan Ast
“Vermin” written by Patricia Semler
“The Visiting Stone” written by A.J Briones
“The Murdering Kind” written by Susan McCauley & Barney Burman
“In Country” written by Scott Peterman & Cat Davis
“Antarctica” written by Alex Bram & Michael David Anderson
“In the Scrape” written by Mark Steensland & James Newman
“Trading Bullets with the Devil” written by Mark Steensland
“The Night Watchman” written by Carroll Brown
“The White City” written by Carroll Brown
“The Scrying Glass” written by Jennifer Quintenz
“Turn to Stone” written by John R. Kestner
“Mother Clucker” written by Frank Nichols
“Siege” written by Ian Neligh
“Ball-Peen Hammer” written by Joel David Santner & Daniel Flint
“Precipice” written by Avishai Weinberger
“The White Chair” written by Mark Seidel & Solomon Gray

Pilot Screenplay Finalists
“What Darkness Brings” written by Ross Denyer
“Rome, Georgia” written by Daniel Talbott
“Children of Metal” written by Geoffrey Prather
“The Extraction List” written by Renee Meland
“Judgement House” written by Alan R. Baxter
The festival will also showcase 59 outstanding and diverse international short films and 7Feature Film premieres, covering just about every aspect of horror, sci-fi, and fantasy. 

The Shriekfest Film Festival runs September 30-October 3rd, 2021.   An opening night party will take place at Bar Sinister in Hollywood; the rest of the festival will be at the iconic Raleigh Studios on Melrose Ave.

Shriekfest, now in its 21st year, was created in July 2001 by Denise Gossett and has grown into the longest-running and one of the largest horror and sci-fi film festivals in the country. Since its inception, Shriekfest has offered young and upcoming writers, actors, directors, and producers a chance to have their work screened and rated by peers.

For more information on the Shriekfest Film Festival, sponsorship opportunities, schedules, and more, visit Shriekfest is also on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.